Home | Our School | Our People | Governors


Board of Governors 

Jordans School has a governing body of volunteers, comprised of parents, one teacher, the Headteacher and representatives from the community and the Local Authority (LA).  The governing body can also appoint associate members to take on specific responsibilities.  Governors serve a four-year term; associates serve a one year term that they can extend if they wish.


Jordans School Board of Governors 2017-2018 

Des Rock 


Acting Chairman & Safeguarding

Hannah  Bancroft      



Ann Floyd


Development & Numeracy
Teaching & Learning Committee 

Katherine Bradnock  

Community SEND & Pupil Premium
Matthew Yalden Parent Health & Safety
Philip Glendinning Parent  Health & Safety
Vanessa Hughes Co-opted Literacy
Sue Lister Associate PSHE
Jaqueline McCarthy Associate Early Years
Joanne Taaffee Staff


To view further information regarding our Governors, please read our Governor Profiles.


The governors provide a strategic framework for the school.  They monitor the school by reviewing the curriculum with the staff and through observation.  They also prepare the school budget annually with the Headteacher and review school policies.

The governors meet each term to monitor the School Development Plan and review progress against targets.  They ensure that the school is in a good state of repair and that safety issues have been attended to.  They also work closely with the Headteacher when a new member of staff is hired.

At Jordans, the governors aim to work with parents and staff to create an effective partnership.  They provide a number of forums for parental input and information, including an annual questionnaire and regular newsletters.